"Give me ten minutes, I'll drill quietly."
– Anton Zaleski

The Hummingbird Project


Cousins from New York, Vincent (Eisenberg) and Anton (Skarsgård) are players in the high-stakes game of High Frequency Trading, where winning is measured in milliseconds. Their dream? To build a fiber-optic cable straight line between Kansas and New Jersey, making them millions. But nothing is straightforward for this flawed pair. Anton is the brains, Vincent is the hustler, and together they push each other and everyone around them to breaking point on their quixotic adventure. Constantly breathing down their necks is their old boss Eva Torres (Hayek) a powerful, intoxicating and manipulative trader who will stop at nothing to come between them and beat them at their own game.

Canada, Belgium, 2018
Thriller, 111min

The Hummingbird Project


Jesse Eisenberg
Alexander Skarsgård
Michael Mando
Salma Hayek
Sarah Goldberg
Anna Maguire
Frank Schorpion
Johan Heldenbergh
Kwasi Songui
Ayisha Issa


Director and Screenwriter: Kim Nguyen
Producer: Pierre Even
Co-Producer: Alain-Gilles Viellevoye
Executive Producers: Brian Kavanaugh-Jones, Fred Berger, Marie-Gabrielle Stewart, Heidi Levitt and Kim Nguyen


Director of Photography: Nicolas Bolduc
Production Designer: Emmanuel Fréchette
Editors: Arthur Tarnowski and Nicolas Chaudeurge
Sound: Pierre Mertens, Thomas Gauder and Paul Heymans
Costume Designer: Valérie Lévesque
Original Score: Yves Gourmeur
Casting: Heidi Levitt, Andrea Kenyon and Randi Wells
Still Photographer: Sébastien Raymond

See Full Cast and Crew >

The Hummingbird Project

Festivals and Awards

TIFF – Toronto International Film Festival
Special presentation at TIFF in Toronto

CIFF Calgary
Official selection

Busan Pusan
Official selection

VIFF Vancouver
Official selection

BFI London
Official selection

Rotterdam Film Festival
Official selection

Göteborg Film Festival
Official selection

Kingston Canada Film Festival
Official selection

Sedona, Film Festival
Official selection

San Diego International Film Festival
Official selection

Gold Coast International Film Festival
Official selection

Victoria Films Festival
Glascow Film Festival

Dublin Film Festival
Official selection

Winner for Achievement in Overall Sound (Pierre Mertens, Thomas Gauder and Alexis Oscari)
Nominated for Achievement in Art Direction/Production Design (Emmanuel Fréchette)
Nominated for Achievement in Hair (Anne Moralis and André Duval)
Nominated for Achievement in Editing (Arthur Tarnowski and Nicolas Chaudeurge)
Nominated for Achievement Music – Original Score (Yves Gourmeur)
Nominated for Achievement in Visual Effects (Philippe Frère, Stéphane Thibert, Alexandre Rouil, Véronique Dessard, Loïc Poës, Barthélémy Beaux, Morgan Hardy, Bernard Devillers and Gaël Durant)